Current Committee

“Within my term as President of ISTA I want to ensure that the Irish Seed Trade Association continues to support the efforts of ensuring that the best available varieties, produced to the highest possible standards are available. Seed is the bedrock for our production systems so this is critical to ensure the continued success of Irish Agriculture”.
Jim Gibbons, President, Irish Seed Trade Association (ISTA).

Jim Gibbons
President (2017-2019)

Jim is recognised for his work with Germinal having joined them in 1991 following a career that started with IAWS. Upon joining Germinal, Jim was responsible for the establishment and development of the cereal wholesale facility. He currently operates as Production and Sales Manager based at HQ in Tipperary.

John Dalton
Outgoing President (2015-2017)

John is a former president of IGFA and a current committee member. He is the in-coming ISTA president, expected to take up the position in May 2015. John is also a board member of the Cereal Association of Ireland. Managing Director of John & Sons Ltd, Chancellors Mills for over 25 year, they produce animal feed for farmers throughout the South of Ireland via a modern high output grain handling and drying facility which specialises in malting barley drying for Boortmalt and Glanbia.

Phil Meaney
Vice President (2017-2019)

Phil joined Glanbia in 1990, having managed a number of Agri trading branches he now manages the Graigcullen site in Carlow, covering production facilities for Seed Grain, Grass Seed and Food Grade Oats.

Patrick O’Mara

Patrick O’Mara is an accountant in practise in Dun Laoghaire and has been secretary of ISTA since 1992, taking over from Ronald Finlay-Mulligan of Finlay-Mulligan & Co. As Secretary, Patrick is responsible for the organisation of the activities of ISTA such as meetings of members, with officials of the Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine, Teagasc and other agencies, as well as reporting to and communicating with members.